Web-ContentWriter

Is LinkBaiting A Blackhat Technique?

Posted in Uncategorized by Sushant on August 26, 2008

Well, it may sound but it doesn’t have to be so. Just the other day, I came across this term while I was reading up some interesting posts on amrit’s weblog. I didn’t know about it so it sounded funny to me. I clicked on it and it took me to a page that explained this term in length. His posts have always been fascinating and informative. However, they are lengthier nevertheless.:)

This particular post on LinkBaiting talks about an interesting idea on how to write fresh, relevant and user-friendly content so that you attract others to link to you. Like Amrit, I too first thought it could be some kind of black hat technique deployed solely to generate back links, but no- it is a whitehat technique and very much legitimate.

Amrit is right- bloggers need to be open to sharing and recommendation. It’s not always possible for a blogger to write posts on every topic. So when I come across an interesting post somewhere, I promptly link to it so that others can take a look at it. Moreover, I like this idea of inviting other writers to write a guest entry on your blog. I learnt this idea when I found Gill on Twitter. Upon visit, I was amazed by the way he invites bloggers to guest-appear on his blog.

Leave a Reply

